# Commander

# **Air Corps Ferrying Command**

Activated 29 May 1941

Brigadier General Robert Olds

29 May 41

late Mar 42

# **Army Air Forces Ferrying Command**

Redesignated Army Air Forces Ferryin	ng Command on 31 Ma	arch 1942
Lieutenant General Harold L. George	1 Apr 42	19 Jun 42

#### **Air Transport Command**

Redesignated Air Transport Command on 1 July 1942		
Inactivated on 1 June 1948		
Lieutenant General Harold L. George	20 Jun 42	19 Sep 46
Major General Robert M. Webster	20 Sep 46	30 Jun 47
Major General Robert W. Harper	1 Jul 47	31 May 48

# **Military Air Transport Service**

Military Air Transport Service activated on 1 June 1948	Military Air Tr	ansport Service	activated on	1 June 1948
---	-----------------	-----------------	--------------	-------------

Lieutenant General Laurence S. Kuter	1 Jun 48	14 Nov 51
Lieutenant General Joseph Smith	15 Nov 51	30 Jun 58
Lieutenant General William H. Tunner	1 Jul 58	31 May 60
General Joe W. Kelly	1 Jun 60	18 Jul 64
General Howell M. Estes, Jr.	19 Jul 64	31 Dec 65

# **Military Airlift Command**

Redesignated Military Airlift Command on 1 January 1966 Consolidated with Air Transport Command on 13 May 1982 Inactivated on 1 June 1992 Commanders

	-	
General Howell M. Estes, Jr.	1 Jan 66	31 Jul 69
General Jack J. Catton	1 Aug 69	11 Sep 72
Lieutenant General George B. Simler		
He was to be promoted to the rank of general on 12 Sep 72, the day he		
would take command of MAC; however, he was killed in the crash of a		
T 38 at Randolph AFB TX on 9 Sep 72 en route to Scott AFB.		
Lieutenant General Jay T. Robbins [interim]	12 Sep 72	25 Sep 72
General Paul K. Carlton	26 Sep 72	31 Jan 77

Commanders in Chief MAC became a specified command on 1 February 1977 MAC lost its specified command status on 1 October 1988 General Paul K. Carlton 1 Feb 77 31 Mar 77 1 Apr 77 30 Jun 79 General William G. Moore, Jr. 1 Jul 79 25 Jun 81 General Robert E. Huyser 26 Jun 81 General James R. Allen 29 Jun 83 General Thomas M. Ryan, Jr. 30 Jun 83 19 Sep 85 General Duane H. Cassidy 21 Sep 89 20 Sep 85 MAC lost its specified command status on 1 October 1988; therefore, leadership lost the "commander in chief" title at that time. [United States Transportation Command was established by President Ronald Reagan on 1 April 1987, was activated by Secretary of Defense on 1 July 1987, and became fully operational on 1 October 1988, which is why MAC lost its specified command status on that date.]

General Hansford T. Johnson

22 Sep 89 31 May 92

#### Air Mobility Command

Activated on 1 June 1992

Consolidated with Military Airlift Command on 1 October 2016		
General Hansford T. Johnson	1 Jun 92	24 Aug 92
General Ronald R. Fogleman	25 Aug 92	17 Oct 94
General Robert L. Rutherford	18 Oct 94	14 Jul 96
General Walter Kross	15 Jul 96	2 Aug 98
General Charles T. Robertson, Jr.	3 Aug 98	4 Nov 01
General John W. Handy	5 Nov 01	6 Sep 05
Lt Gen Christopher A. Kelly	<sup>*</sup> 7 Sep 05	13 Oct 05

(Interim commander until Lt Gen McNabb's nomination for promotion to "general" was confirmed. Lt Gen Kelly was dual-hatted during this time--AMC vice commander and commander.)

mile vice commander and commander.		
General Duncan J. McNabb	14 Oct 05	6 Sep 07
General Arthur J. Lichte	7 Sep 07	19 Nov 09
General Raymond E. Johns, Jr.	20 Nov 09	29 Nov 12
General Paul J. Selva	30 Nov 12	4 May 14
General Darren W. McDew	5 May 14	10 Aug 15
General Carlton D. Everhart II	11 Aug 15	6 Sep 18
General Maryanne [nmi] Miller	7 Sep 18	19 Aug 20
General Jacqueline D. Van Ovost	20 Aug 20	4 Oct 21
General Michael A. Minihan	5 Oct 21	8 Sep 24
General John D. Lamontagne	9 Sep 24	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>\*</sup>This date marks the first separation of command responsibilities between the United States Transportation Command and Air Mobility Command, the Air Force component command to USTRANSCOM. General Norton A. Schwartz was assigned on 7 September 2005 as Commander of the United States Transportation Command. Since activation of USTRANSCOM on 18 April 1987, the commander had been dual-hatted as commander of both USTRANSCOM and AMC.